Newbie, Help with some netowrk security worries, from the inside, please.....

Hi

I'm a student and live in a house with lots of lodgers, some of them only 2 month stay overseas students with laptops. We have a wireless internet connection that we all use which is in my name. I think I have set up protection from the outside as best I can 128WEP and the router (belkin) boasts firewall capabilities that I dont understand. I have antivirus, spyware and wifi cracking programs (trend and lavasoft) and am not aware of anything coming from the outside.

My real concern is that the people who come to stay (all of whom have been great so far), could do anything on the internet and it would be my fault, as the world would see my IP no? I have not used any harddrive cleaning software on my pc so that if it ever needed to be 'examined' it would come up clean (of anything serious anyway). Recently a lecturer of mine went to jail for child p*rn, it made me realise that I cant just trust blindly the people whom i have essentially given my identity. how can I protect myself? please help

btw, I have a desktop that i could dedicate to monitoring/firewall type things if that would help

Reply to
robertweedall
Loading thread data ...

whoops, not wi fi cracking program. program that detects intruders. sorry :s

Reply to
robertweedall

Wow, thanks for so much info Duane,

It'll take me a little while to fully get my head round everything you said well enough to carry it out. I'm glad it sounds like I'll be able to sort it though, I'll let you know how i get on.

Much Obliged,

rob ;oD

Reply to
robertweedall

See:

formatting link
wireless intrusion detection software.