Long distance wireless network setup question

Hi all, I am new to the wireless world. I am trying to share out a high speed connection with my neighbor that lives next to me. From my house to his is only 850ft. However there is a buffer of trees in the way that is about 50ft thick. However there is a big metal shop in my back yard that is 325ft from my house. From the shop there is a opening in the trees to where I can see my neighbors house clear (nothing in way of line of sight). The distance between the shop and a outbuilding on his property is about 450ft. My question is can I put a router at my house, get the signal to the shop with a bridge unit and then to my neighbors house. I have seen some claims of outdoor range of up to 1500ft outdoors. The units will be housed on the outside of the buildings in a watertight wooden box. Would this setup work? Here is a drawing of how the property is laid out and what I am trying to do.

Help and suggestions please!!

Thanks, Joey[image:

formatting link

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
Flatshovel
Loading thread data ...

Flatshovel hath wroth:

850ft is quite a distance for Wi-Fi and will surely require external antennas, probably at both ends.

Thick trees? Thin trees? Can you see *UNDER* the foliage canopy by the trunks? Can you see anything through the trees? It's a big stretch but some trees are thin or widely spaced so that some RF will make it through. In any case, you need some line of sight.

There's also another problem you're going to have to deal with called the Fresnel Zone. You really need MORE than line of sight at 2.4GHz. See calculator at:

At 850ft, you'll need to have 7.4 ft clearance at midpoint. That also means that both antennas need to be at least 7.4 ft off the ground. If the ground isn't level, it has to be higher.