Internet connection from Wired router to Wireless router ?

Hi,

I am a newbie in the wireless world. I had a wired - normal router and just bought a wireless one. I would like my internet connection to be shared like this :

modem to wired router - already in place Wired router to my desktop - already in place Wired router to the wireless router - which port on wireless ? Internet or WAN or 1 ? Wireless router to my laptop

Is that possible ? If yes, how should I do it ?

Thanks.

Reply to
anonym
Loading thread data ...

Depends.. Do you just want to share internet but no network sharing stuff? Or do you just want it to be on the network like everything else you already have?

I'm assuming (

Reply to
Peter Pan

This is not necessary to get the router or an AP to work. The ip address kan be anything in the local ip address range - just as long as the OP doesn't mind re-assigning the ip-address on the pc used to connect to the router's (or AP's) configuration page.

I'm not sure, but should not the router (the one that is to be used as an AP) be connected (plugged into the existing network) by one of its LAN ports, and not by the WAN port?

Reply to
Axel Hammerschmidt

Note the second part of the assumption... "but still allow access to everything else... " most firewalls (including the one in XP-SP2) will isolate different subnets.. By making it the same subnet, you still allow access to everything else...

Yup, that's EXACTLY what it said in the part (after the comma) you snipped (and then included later on)... Was "on, and use the router part plugged into your existing network." .

Reply to
Peter Pan