DWL-G132 D-Link USB Adapter + DI624M = "not connected"

Hi, everyone. I'm totally new to this, so please bear with me.

I got a DWL-G132 Wireless USB Adapter and a DI624M router, both from D- Link, but can't seem to get a Wireless connection going. I installed both as instructed by the rather crude manuals. I set up the router through Setup Wizard, also as instructed, via the 192.168.0.1 URL.

I still get a white D logo with a red line moving up and down instead of the green one which indicates a wireless connection. If I hover the mouse over it, I get the message "D-Link airplus Xtreme G DWL g132 Wireless USB Adapter(rev. A) Not Connected!" Searching for connections through Windows or the D-Link software turns up nothing. Lights on the router seem to indicate the cables are connected properly.

Any ideas? I can't even determine whether the problem is with the router or the adapter.

Thanks in advance

Reply to
steele
Loading thread data ...

On 14 Feb 2007 20:50:15 -0800, "steele" wrote in :

1. Reset the router to hardware defaults and start over.
  2. Configure the router without _any_ security.
  3. Get the wireless working without security.
  4. Enable WPA (and only WPA) security.

For more tips, see wikis below.

Reply to
John Navas

Reply to
thyago.marques

On 16 Feb 2007 06:29:54 -0800, snipped-for-privacy@gmail.com wrote in :

What WLAN LED? Router? USB adapter? If the latter, the radio is probably not getting turned on. Try removing and reinstalling the driver.

That can happen if the radio never gets turned on.

Reply to
John Navas

No, the router's WLAN LED.