Accessing chosen WiFi Network Only - OS X

Hello

I'm new to Mac OS X 10.4. Every time my computer wakes up it logs into my neighbour's WiFi network instead of my own. I want to restrict it to only accessing my own network.

My 802.11b network is encrypted. My neighbour's signal is un-encrypted.

Is there a way to delete the unwanted network from my list of networks?

Many thanks Kevin

Reply to
KevinSmith
Loading thread data ...

I'm not sure about 10.4, but in 10.3.x one of the updates fixed this problem. Anyway you can configure a Location in the Apple menu to log onto your own access point. Scroll down and create a new Location - call it Home (or the same as your SSID of choice). Then open the Network Preferences. Activate Airport in Show (this is in 10.3.9) and then choose Airport in the row of buttons and set By default join: A specific network and enter your Home (or whatever SSID you set your access point). Choose TCP/IP in the row of buttons and configure the IPv4 connection on your Mac - usually DHCP.

Having set the Location to your SSID, your MAC should no longer connect to the neighbours AP.

You haven't told us if you are using an Airport, but if you are using a

1. party access point or router, use Internet Connect to make the actual connection to you access point.
Reply to
Axel Hammerschmidt

In System Preferences/Network/[Show] Airport, tell it "By default join [preferred networks]" and put YOURS at the top of the list, and/or just delete your neighbour's network. Also, click Options and tell it "Ask before joining an open network" (suspenders and a belt).

It's a confusing interface; I'll put some screenshots somewhere if you like.

Reply to
Warren Oates

Hi Axel and Warren

You've solved my problem. Thanks for taking time to respond. That's working nicely now.