NeoRouter - the zero-config VPN solution for OpenWRT

NeoRouter

formatting link
is a zero-config VPN and remote access solution, and they have just added support for OpenWRT.

I was a Hamachi user and a small business owner. I stopped using Hamachi because I could not shell out 20 bucks a month just to pay for its service. I have been looking for an alternative VPN solution. I tried to setup OpenVPN on my router running OpenWRT, but as a newbie, it was just too difficult for me. Finally I found NeoRouter and it=92s a very neat solution and very easy to setup.

It took me merely a few minutes to setup its server program on my Linksys WRT54GL running the latest Kamikaze and its client program on my PCs and laptops. As a network newbie, I did not have trouble setting it up following the instructions

formatting link
formatting link
It=92s so much easier than OpenVPN and I am glad I do not need to manually edit any configuration files.

NeoRouter has a very nice user interface for its client program called Network Explorer. It=92s probably the most user-friendly client program among all the VPN products I have tried, better than OpenVPN and Hamachi. I love the roaming user profile so that my preference is always remembered no matter where I go.

NeoRouter can establish direct P2P connections just like Hamachi, but it is much faster. I transferred a 30 MB video file from my home in San Jose to my parents=92 in Boston in about 3 minutes using NeoRouter while Hamachi would usually take 5-6 minutes. NeoRouter establishes P2P connections only when I try to connect to the remote computer, while Hamachi establishes an exponential number of connections at launch time. I used to have >30 computers in my Hamachi network, and all these unnecessary TCP connections sometimes bog down my computer and network. I am glad NeoRouter solved the issue.