Favorite VPN Solutions

If you were starting totally from scratch and building a "small" VPN system (new routers, computers, operating system, programs, etc.) ... what components would make up your favorite configuration? Let's define small as 3 desktop computers in a small home business and a couple of road warriors with notebooks.

If you have a working system ... please share your set-up and what you would change if starting over. Likes and dislikes.

I'm a VPN newb and want to start off in the right direction.

I know "best" is very vague! Best security, easiest to learn and use, least expensive, most flexible, most common, best support, most mainstream, etc. Endless categories! Making this newb dizzy. Whatever someone with experience thinks is best will certainly be helpful to me!

If I really must limit the scope of this topic ... I currently am using Win2K and have the C++.Net software. Mostly I have been writing console apps, but I am anxious to learn both modern VPN and modern programming methods. I am trying to avoid going back too many programming generations. Thus I should use Frames over MFC? I should study XML? I need Win2003 Server?

Favorite VPN authors and titles would also be helpful! :))

Thanks in advance for your responses.

It's Xmas day here. Happy holidays all. :)

Reply to
Tom
Loading thread data ...

MS Small business server, remote web workplace, outlook web access and outlook over https/rpc. I've been doing VPN stuff for years and this services 90% of the normal reasons VPNs are implemented. simon

Reply to
Simon

simon -- Thanks!! The VPN solution you outline above is excellent.

Simply knowing what the gurus' first choices are is a huge help for this newb. The online searching I had done in the past provided some info ... but much of that is shaded over by marketing and is confusing.