[telecom] Re: Cord PBX shown in new TV show

While you do get better voice fidelity with electret microphones unfortunately you get worse RFI rejection. Put a GSM mobile phone next to a handset such as a recent 'K' style handset and place a call to the wired phone. Just prior to the phone ringing you'll hear the classic GSM "ditdidit-ditdidit-ditdidit" RFI prior to the wired phone ringing. You probably won't hear that on a phone that has a carbon granule transmitter.

***** Moderator's Note *****

Since I'm a ham radio operator, this subject is very near to my heart. There's nothing like the "thrill" of working all day long to put up a new antenna design, and fire up the rig, only to hear my son crying "DAAAAD" since he can hear me on the phone while trying to talk to girlfriend #307.

In general, Western Electric "500" sets are the least troublesome I've worked with, and the cheap "giveaway" phones that people used to get in return for trying a magazine subscription are the worst.

Whatever the instrument that you're having trouble with, there's a lot of practical advice available from the American Radio Relay League (ARRL), at their website:

formatting link
Bill Horne Temporary Moderator

(Please put [Telecom] at the end of your subject line, or I may never see your post! Thanks!)

Reply to
Joseph Singer
Loading thread data ...

Wow...He needs a hobby...like, ummm...ham radio?

He already has one: busting my chops. ;-)

(Please put [Telecom] at the end of your subject line, or I may never see your post! Thanks!)

Reply to
DTC

You mis-understood what Bill said.

That's -not- sequential numbering, but parallelism.

He already has his hands (and then some) full, without any other distractions.

He's just living up to the family name, after all -- when the 2nd vowel isn't silent, but given a 'long' intonation.

Harumph.