Spring ahead, fall back

I was just resetting the clocks in my house, and it brought back a memory.

When I was a technician, the ESS switches each kept their own time, and on occasion, they'd be misset and the programming staff would have to run special correction jobs to change all the tape records that had been created during the interval the clock was incorrect.

Is this still the case, or are the C.O.'s synched to an NBS-traceable source now?

Bill Horne Temporary Moderator

(Filter QRM from my address for direct replies)

(Please put "[Telecom]" (without the quotes, but _with_ the brackets) in your subject line, or I might never see your post.)

Reply to
TELECOM Digest Temporary Moder
Loading thread data ...

Time division switches have to have a very accurate clock. Aren't they all tied to some government time source?

***** Moderator's Note *****

Good point: of course, TDM switches need a very accurate _timing source_, but that's a separate issue. Verizon timing is mostly dervied from GPS these days, and I assume other ILECs are using it too.

The question, though, is if the _time of day_ settings in the COs are being derived from a common source, or if they're still being set locally.

Reply to
Sam Spade

From what I can remember they use a common source, at least the GTD5 did in California, but that was 11 years ago, though I don't think much has changed. I remember when we were installing one someone got the 1 and 0 source reversed on several offices, during a precut I was having problems testing so I followed a cable and found the error.

Reply to
Steven Lichter

What do they use to control the dial-in time recording-- (215-846-1212)? Do other cities still have this phoneco provided service? (Note--846 was legacy TIme).