info needed on 911 emergency call systems [Telecom]

(uncertain this is the right forum for this. . .)

I'm hoping to contact a few 911 emergency operators to learn the steps that occur when a call is received. In particular, how does an incoming cellphone call reporting an emergency (such as a car wreck) lead to a police officer being dispatched?

I'm including such an operator in a novel I'm researching, and want to know what the facility looks like, who says what to whom, how the closest officer is located, what sort of information is finally sent to the officer, how much of the process is automatic, how much decision-making is required, etc.

DrYattz

(I'm actually a psychologist; writing is an amateur endeavor. . .)

Reply to
DrYattz
Loading thread data ...

I'm somewhat familiar with the process. You might have better luck identifying a good source through NENA ( snipped-for-privacy@nena.org).

You have the PSAP (Public Safety Answering Point) in the USA that houses call takers and dispatchers. At best a cell phone will give a GPS coordinate or perhaps just a general region (southwest of a given cell tower). Everything from that point on may have some computer assistance, ubt it is mostly the caller talking to the call taker.

Good luck,

David

Reply to
Eagle

Depending on where you live, this could be an easy quest. Find out the non-emergency phone number of you local 911 emergency center. Google should be able to help you. Call over and explain your project. You may find that the person who answers the phone is willing to help, either directly or by suggesting another person in the organization who can.

Good Luck,

-Gary

Reply to
Gary