Challenge-Response Now Available On CallCentric [telecom]

Just got an announce from my VOIP provider to the effect that they are implementing something I've been ranting about for a couple years as the only solution: "Telemarketer Block - With our Telemarketer Block feature you can dramatically reduce and potentially eliminate unwanted telemarketing and robocalls. When activated, inbound callers (to the DIDs that you have this feature activated on) will hear an automated message which will require them to press a specific key (1-9) in order to complete their call. Your Callcentric Phone WILL NOT begin to ring, until AFTER the inbound caller has successfully pressed the requisite key on their phone Our newest features/promotions were developed based on feedback from our Valued Customers. If you have a service suggestion or feature request that you would like to submit to us for review, please open a support ticket under the category "Suggestions and Feedback" and we will be happy to take a look. "

Reply to
Pete Cresswell
Loading thread data ...

Per Telecom Digest Moderator:

Yeah... my immediate reaction upon reading the announcement was "I hope that's not all there is to it...".

For starters, they need something like "3 strikes and you're out" where the caller either gets flipped to voicemail or totally locked out after that ID hits n incorrect keys. That would be needed to prevent limitless successive calls - each pressing a different key.

Multiple key combinations would help too: "23" instead of "2", or even "234". At some level of random combination tries needed, I would hope the economics tip in favor of the phone user.