Thinking of installing myself...

I'm a professional installer, and I do battery calculations on residential systems. The fact that you use a single 4 amp-hour battery only goes to show why you should not be allowed to touch fire alarm systems. Oh wait, you don't have a license. You're NOT allowed to touch fire alarm systems.

NFPA 72, 11.6.2, "Household Fire Alarm Systems," states that "the secondary source shall be capable of operating the system for at least 24 hours in the normal condition followed by 4 minutes of alarm. Now, please explain to us how to determine whether a given system complies with this requirement without doing battery calculations.

Then you can explain to us how even a 7 amp-hour battery provides 24 hours of standby on a system with three alphanumeric keypads, a zone expander or two, plus several motions and glass breaks. I'm being deliberately vague on the equipment list to make a point: you just don't know the answer until you do the math for the exact system in question.

Of course, you'd probably solve this problem with one of those special Napco diode battery harnesses.

- badenov

Reply to
Nomen Nescio
Loading thread data ...

Mike,

You could just filter him..... I several people filtered because of their B.S. and SPAM..........

Russ

Reply to
Russell Brill

You did not do to good with this battery story

Battery Diode Harness StoryFrom: snipped-for-privacy@aol.com (Group Moderator) Newsgroups: alt.security.alarms Subject: REPOST: Battery Diode Story - GOOFY BASS WRONG AGAIN Lines: 89 NNTP-Posting-Host: ngpost-m2.news.aol.com X-Admin: snipped-for-privacy@aol.com Date: 22 May 2002 07:13:17 GMT Organization: AOL

formatting link
Message-ID:

REPOSTED FOR THOSE WHO REQUESTED IT: This is the guy ROBERT L. (Lunatic) Goofy Bass that his Clones think he is so knowledgeable about alarms.

Battery Diode Story

Bass Was Totally Wrong - This was taken right from

formatting link