Thinking of installing myself...

I've just recently started looking into home security systems. I have an ADT guy coming tomorrow, and have a call into a local security company.

When I built my house, I wired up for pretty much everything but a home security system (big mistake I think). So one of the things I'm considering is wired vs wireless.

Is this something I can do myself? I'm a amateur with residential wiring (done some but not a ton), but completely in the dark on home security systems.

Are there any sites out there that could give me some basic information and point me in the right direction??

Thanks!

Reply to
Kremlar
Loading thread data ...

Don't do it!!! The thing that matters most is getting a skilled installer. The gear is all pretty much the same (ruling out over the counter junk) but you need some one good.

Trust me; I have been installing for 16 years I started with home alarms now I do airports. Get a known company and don't go cheap on the motion sensors.

Reply to
Beats

You can DIY if you don't mind spending a little time learning about the various options and how/where to use them. It's not rocket science. The wiring is 2 and 4-conductor stuff. Programming the system can be a mild pain but I know thousands (quite literally) of DIYers who have done it.

I own one of the largest alarm stores on the web catering to DIY homeowners and businesses. I have information on most of the major brands of alarms which professional installers use. I've been in the business for over 29 years and am willing to spend as time explaining what to use, how to install it and how to configure the system.