Monitoring Rates

Hi people,

I'm a newbie, playing with the idea of a DIY system. I'm a bit confused about the monitoring market - just saw a website for a monitoring service in northern CA with various plans (around 8 different ones).

These plans each had an install-price and a monitoring fee. Not surprisingly, as the number of "included sensors" increases, the install-price increases. But what I don't quite get is that the monitoring fee also increases.

Now in one case, I can see that the addition of cell-backup might increase the monitor's cost (paid to alarmnet or whoever). But otherwise, it seems like there really is no difference in the service provided.

Is the monitoring cost variation due to:

1) attempt to recapture some portion of the initial cost the equipment base 2) higher average cost of maintaining that larger equipment base 3) assumption that the customer is willing to pay more (monthly) for higher-end system 4) something else

TIA.

Reply to
bit eimer
Loading thread data ...

1. Greed. It's a racket. :^)

Most honest alarm companies charge a flat fee for residential service. There may be an incremental cost for daily auto-test, a feature where the panel calls the central station every day with an "I'm OK" signal, because that ties up the receiver lines more, requiring more lines and more hardware for a given number of accounts. Other than that, very few companies charge extra for additional zones.

A few companies charge an extra few dollars for fire monitoring although there's no real justification for doing so since the major portion of signals are burglary related -- not fire so there's no measurable incremental cost to the company. ADT used to (and perhaps still does) charge extra for fire.

For monitoring DIY alarm systems, consider 911Alarm.com (crude website but a number of my DIY customers use them and say they do a good job) or NextAlarm.com (slick website, lots of options, but feedback has been mixed).

Reply to
Robert L Bass