Norstar Modular ICS - Several Questions

Hello! I am a fresh faced newb when it comes to the PBX system. I have been able to wade through most of the issues here at my new job, but I can't crack the remaining problems.

PBX: Norstar Modular ICS M12X0 Phones: Mostly T7316

#1: How do you change the line that is used as a phone's "prime line", meaning the line that is selected when the reciever is lifted. There are several phones that say "Unknown Number" when the reciever is lifted, and the user has to manually select a line to call.

#2: Could someone point me in the direction of a line pool tutorial? There has GOT to be something wrong here.... three people's phones ring for incoming calls, and we really don't want ANY phone to ring, as we have an Auto Attendant. The primary phone does not ring on incoming, but newly added extensions do

#3: In the genre of line pools, when people make outgoing calls from their extensions, they have all 10 of my company's lines, assigned to buttons, to choose from. They choose an outside line and dial. If someone happens to choose the line that has the phone number that we print on our business cards, then that line will be busy to all incoming callers. This is not optimal. I would like, instead, to see everyone have to dial 9 to get an outside line, and the system will give them a free line. Also, when that main phone number is called in on, is there not a way to divert the call to another line immediately so another incoming call can get through?

#4: Is there some OTHER manual to refer to, aside from this "Nortel Norstar Compact ICS 4.0 System Coordinator Guide"? The procedures in this book have helped learn, but I have the feeling that there are more advanced capabilites on the admin side that this manual just isn't telling me.

I must sound like an ass, but you've got to start learning somewhere! Thanks in advance.

Reply to
cbaker
Loading thread data ...