adding a m7310 to a small norstar system

I'm a unix sysadmin doing some work at a startup. They have a small Norstar PBX switch. The manuals don't give you a good overview of the system that ties what your doing all together. I have what I think is a good line but when I plug a m7310 into it all the little triangle arrows flash and then go out, no dial tone, nothing. I have a few questions before I even get to setting up voice mail and appreciate any help anyone can give me.

1. When the phone flashes triangles and nothing afterwards, does this mean the line is not hooked up to the system or that the phone has some sort of memory that it is at the wrong line? I've heard that I may have to reset the phone somehow so it comes up on the line as whatever extension is suppose to be on that line. If so how do you do that?

1. I've got the "sets" now set to the correct names of the people sitting at them via the F**266344 but I've noticed that almost all of the "lines" are labeled by the system as "Line 223" not the name of the person sitting there. Should they be set to the users name as well or left at the "Line 233" string?

2. How do I find out what extension should be at the wall plate? Should that have been labeled at install and the only way is to trace the wires? How do I see if a wall plate is live?

Thanks, Don

Reply to
Don S
Loading thread data ...
  1. arrow flashing is normal and a unit can take up to a minute to be programmed by the system. Plug one and and go get a cup of coffee, if by the time you get back it still is flashing then somehow the system doesnt know how to program that type of phone.

1. Not sure on this answer.. You metion the word "line". Do you mean external line? Internal numbers should be programmed with user names. External ... i have never touched..so I dont know.