Port scan activty

I've been using Sygate Personal Firewall(free version) for at least two years. Sygate gives me frequent port scan alerts that are always the same:

There were thirteen of these scans within the last week. Most days, there are 2-3 scan attempts per day. My machine is only connected via DSL when it's on; when I'm not using it, it is often off. Thus, there may have been more scan attempts than what's been recorded.

All attempts originate from one "Remote MAC" and four separate hosts. Every event scans four ports, seemingly at random, except that there's some clustering around certain port numbers. Most scans include port

1030. The second most common port scanned is 1033. The remainder are mostly random numbers close to 1030. There is often one scanned port in the 4000 range.

Can someone tell me what this activity is?

Thanks.

Richard

Reply to
Richard Steinfeld
Loading thread data ...

Google 'port xxx' works very well. In case, see

formatting link

Reply to
Jeff B

Thanks. I know about the vulnerability.

However, what I'm most curious about is the regularity of the attack. Each event consists of exactly four probes. I'd like to know about who and what is the cause of this particular activity. Back-tracing always produces vague information, like "...address is really world-wide." The MO is relentless; I've been intercepting these things for well beyond an entire year.

Richard

Reply to
Richard Steinfeld

"Microsoft operating systems tend to allocate one or more unsuspected, publicly exposed services (probably DCOM, but who knows)"

It seems that GRC do not know, what they're writing about here.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

'relentless' is how they succeed. one day the make a penetration and then they've got you.

just smile and keep up the good work. btw, if I log my intercepts, I've been seeing this too for a L O N G time now.

Reply to
Jeff B