Linux Firewall or Netgear

Hi all, I am quite new to firewalls, and have previously only used Zone Alarm on networked clients and gateways. I am currently setting up a network and had originally thought of using Linux on a computer for gateway/firewall for the Network

The internet connection is a 512K ADSL MODEM. The network will be 1 logon\\DHCP Win 2000 Adserv, and 4 XP Clients.

I feel confident in setting up a simple Linux firewall (Smoothwall), but which one offers the best protection or is more suited to my network?

Bearing in mind that I would also like to have VPN Access.

"Linux Firewall" or something like the "NETGEAR FVS318 8 Tunnel VPN/Firewall Router with 8 x 10/100 Switch"

What is the best firewall/configuration setup?

Ps I don't have static IP!

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Paul.

Reply to
delete007
Loading thread data ...

I myself would go with the hardware device.

You may want to look at the WatchGuard SOHO 6 line that is a real FW appliance.

formatting link
You can get them at a good price at CDW.

formatting link
Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

The choice is yours really, a PC running a firewall or a small appliance that is a very low-end firewall that supports IPSec tunnels between points.

Your connection, is typical of a small office. I would have expected that with the price of 200 Advanced Server that they could have afford a first class firewall, but your choice of the FVS318, while not a upper end firewall, does offer most of the needed features of a high end NAT box that will protect them.

Neither, you need to pick the one you are sure you can setup based on the rules you determine will protect their network. If you pick something new, something you've never worked with, you may not configure it properly and it may leave them exposed.