I am sick of windows firewall

I've read all your posts and am confused by your statement(s) that PFWs only deal with incoming traffic.

I've been using Sygate for several years (don't know what to use instead, even now), and it definitely asks before it connects for an update. For example, Adobe Reader always wants to update - I set Sygate to stop it. Several other programs I run want to go check for updates all the time and I don't want them to use resources and keep my waiting.

And - perhaps more importantly, I certainly don't want them to download and install their updates unless I decide I need that update. And then, I want to install one update and make sure it hasn't affected machine performance, before I download another. Essentially, I want to know what's going on. Even if the intentions are good, if there is a negative result, a bug, a conflict between programs, I want to know what was just changed/installed/updated.

If Windows FW doesn't do that - then what would I need it for? I have a Linksys NAT, SP1 router - doesn't that perform the same function better?

TIA

Louise

Reply to
louise
Loading thread data ...

And you have all exploits in this software. And your computer is being infected by the very first PDF with malware in it.

Congratulations.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

Sarcastic? It's cynicism. It's cynicism, that "Personal Firewalls" entraping people to act like Louise here. It's cynicism, that those "security system providers" catch billions of dollars for crap. For endangering people, like Louise.

Adobe software, as many other software, too, is far from being perfect. So is Adobe Reader, too. From time to time it has exploits.

Stopping keeping it up to date endangers not only the user who does so, it endangers many other users which are attacked from this box afterwards.

And you ask me to be "sweeter"?

:-/

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

Unfortunately you seem not to understand.