Defeating Firewalls: Sneaking Into Office Computers From Home

Wolfgang, you sound pretty stupid to me. I don't give a damn. If somebody is stupid enough to use it just because I say so, I can't do anything.

My idea is not to encourage somebody. It's just a piece of information. I am a sysadmin myself and I know the implications of using this. That's why I have the disclaimer in the paper.

Reply to
manu
Loading thread data ...

I agree that the majority of compromised systems and spam relays have Dynamic IPs. However, that is not the same thing as saying, the majority of Dynamic IP systems send spam, or are open relays. Two different statements. That's why I don't agree with blanket blocking of Dynamic IPs. As a side note, this is the first time you mentioned Dynamic IPs. Up to now we were talking about "residential" IPs. Do you consider the terms synonymous?

Disagree. But that's okay.

You could stop even more if you blocked even more. I don't see that as surprising. You do this after making a conscious decision to accept more "false positive" losses. Again, your choice, but not for everyone.

Well, not saying that you don't have a clue, only that this analogy doesn't prove that you do. After all, it's easy to avoid having a compromised customer, just block everything. Doesn't mean it was a smart solution for that particular customer just because he wasn't hacked.