A very basic doubt

Hi All, I am extremely new to firewalls like Checkpoint and Cisco PIX ; the only thing Ive used before is Zone Alarm on my desktop ; so I wonder if anyone could clarify a doubt I had here.

On a Cisco PIX 525 if I say :-

access-list t1 permit ip hosta hostb OR access-list t2 permit ip any hostb

This means that I'm allowing all IP traffic from HostA or "any" through to HostB. Heres the doubt...

What exactly do I mean by IP traffic??

1) Does it mean that it includes all protocols working at the IP level including ICMP , IGRP and a few more??

OR

2) Does it simply mean allowing all traffic originating from Host A which uses the IP protocol ; of which TCP is also a part? (This means I'm allowing practically all connections from Host A to Host B)

OR

3) Does it mean that all traffic which has the IP address of Host A is allowed to get to Host B ? (This sounds ridiculous...)

--->Im almost 100% sure its not 3...

--->If its 1 then do I have to keep writing rules for each protocol I want to use?eg. If i want to initiate a connection btw Host A and B I have to write :-

access-list t1 permit ip hosta hostb (To permit usage of IP Protocol) access-list t1 permit tcp hosta hostb eq 23 (To permit usage of TCP Protocol for telnet purposes)

--->If its 2 which looks likely

Will only this suffice? access-list t1 permit tcp hosta hostb eq 23 and also allow IP in the process?

and does this have any value at all incase the TCP rule is present? access-list t1 permit ip hosta hostb

I figure that by now you guys must have understood what Im asking. Any suggestions/pointers are welcome.

Thnx Arvind

Reply to
arvind.doraiswamy
Loading thread data ...

In article , wrote: :On a Cisco PIX 525 if I say :-

:access-list t1 permit ip hosta hostb : OR :access-list t2 permit ip any hostb

:This means that I'm allowing all IP traffic from HostA or "any" through :to HostB.

Both would be syntax errors on the PIX ;-)