Cisco error

Lets try this again; I have a network connecting three buildings using Cisco

2924XL-en switches. The switches are used and were just bought. I'm getting the following error. I've never used VLAN's before and don't plan on using them in this application. What's the best way to eliminate this error and configure the switches?????

%CDP-4-NATIVE_VLAN_MISMATCH: Native VLAN mismatch discovered on FastEthernet1/1 (0), with OSLM-Hub2 FastEthernet1/1 (1).

Barry Streets

Reply to
Barry
Loading thread data ...

The "best" way is to match up the native VLANs so the error goes away. If that's not possible, use CDP version 1 as opposed to version 2. Version 1 does not check/care about native VLANs.

Reply to
Hansang Bae

Hansang is right, but the answer may have been oversimplified. :)

What he is trying to say is that the vlans that the ports are in must be the same on both sides of the switch. Since you said that you don't intend to use vlans, I would assume that you just want everything in the same vlan and don't require multiple vlans for this installation. Since you have a native vlan mismatch, I could also assume that these two switches have tried to negotiate a trunk between them (normal since this is default behavior). Do this, return all ports to vlan 1. This will clear up your error message.

Better to fix the problem rather than treat the symptoms.

You should probably clean up some of the other things you don't need, like delete all the other vlans, or I suppose you could reset both switches back to factory defaults.

Reply to
Kevin Widner

It isn't a problem though. A lot of people like assigning distribution ports as access ports, putting them in one vlan. Then, that port links to a switch which will be "dumb", ie no management configured. Lets you use vlans without configuring the access switches. You will get this error if you go this route. The error is meaningless.

Reply to
ec

Can do no cdp advertise-v2 then. True with the logs.

Reply to
ec