Show commands

Hi all,

I have a problem at work that is getting a little bit personal now. We have an application that spans our local network (the web part) and the database where the usernames come from (over a VPN, 100Mb).

This application fails every morning with an unspecified error and we are told without a doubt it's a network issue. Me being the network engineer have exhausted every possibility going looking into this.

I have been thinking, is the 4506 getting over-loaded, or are the un-contended blades using up too much of their backplane? Is there a show command that will tell me how much bandwidth is being used for the blade involved? I've been looking for this fault now for ages and am now lost.

I have Cisco Works LMS 2.6 if that helps, but I'm not a complete expert on the fault-finding side of it.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Kind regards

James M

Reply to
James
Loading thread data ...

What is failing? Logon? Database replication? Transfer? Queries or transactions? In my years, I have seen a handful of switch problems, but mostly these are related to bad modules, bad ports, bad ASICs, etc. Generally speaking, your switch will not be getting overloaded unless you are running some hardcore stuff like multiple gig ether- channel database replication, and even then, multiple sessions. Not to say that folks can't nail a switch with poor configuration (spanning vlans or trunks, etc).

Where does the VPN go? What kind of bandwidth is it? 100 meg tells me the fast ethernet connection to the VPN, but does not tell me if that is LAN or WAN and where the other side of the VPN is. If this VPN is over a internet T1, and the transaction that fails is a gig file transfer to kick off the day, then you may be hitting a bottleneck, but generally speaking, nothing should 'fail'. I guess if someone is nailing the pipe and this is a sensitive application, it could be timing out, but that is what needs to be analyzed.