routing on a PIX 515

I'm a bit of newbie, and have configured a few routers, but this is my first PIX firewall configuration. I've got a PIX 515 set up on an interior network to do some simple testing before I move it to be our firewall. The problem is that I can't get packets to across the firewall from the inside to the outside interface. And I've turned off the ICMP blocking. I'll include the relevant configuration below. I also wondered if the problem was just ICMP traffic, but HTTP packets don't cross the firewall either. In a few words:

1) from the network on the inside I can ping the inside interface 2) from the network on the outside I can ping the outside interface 3) From the firewall (console) I can ping both interfaces, the default gateway I've defined, and hosts on the inside network 4) But I can't ping from the host on the inside to the outside interface, and vice-versa.

I figure this is something pretty basic, but after searching thru a bunch of PIX tutorials on web and the Cisco site, I still can't find the answer. Here are the parts of the configuration I think are relevant:

! name the interfaces -- as expected nameif ethernet0 outside security0 nameif ethernet1 inside security100

! set the basic addresses ip address outside xxx.xxx.50.14 255.255.255.0 ip address inside xxx.xxx.65.193 255.255.255.0

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 xxx.xxx.53.1 2

! allow ping *temporarily* for debugging icmp permit any echo outside icmp permit any echo-reply outside icmp permit any echo inside icmp permit any echo-reply inside

! I tried this as an alternative way to turn off ICMP blocking. ! It doesn't seem to make any difference access-list ping_ok permit icmp any any access-group ping_ok in interface inside access-group ping_ok in interface outside