I learned that if you want transfer a config file from a TFTP server to the PIX config net will merge the running config with that uploaded from the TFTP server. So the best way to restore a working configuration is to clear the configuration from the console and then copy the wished one from the TFTP server. The the first of following commands is quite self-explanatory and your remote workstation must belong to the LAN of the inside interface, otherwise you get disconnected
configure factory-default [ ]
but what about this one?
clear configure [primary|secondary|all]
Any comments are appreciated.