ip unnumbered

Hi folks,

Im a newbie to cisco hardware and configuration.

I was wondering if there was anyway i could do an ip unnumbered sort of set up for the following.

I am being presented with a leased line via ethernet, i wil terminate this on fa0/0, i want fa0/1 to be the LAN interface, however i need that to have the same ip as fa0/0, same sort of idea with a leased line provided via x21. Int s0/0 ip unnumbered fastethernet 0/1. I know i ban't do an ip unnumberered on a non point to point multi access interface.

Anyone any ideas? Maybe a loopback with some policy routing?

Im totally stumped, any pointers would be apprecited guys, thanks.

Andrew

Reply to
tweety
Loading thread data ...

Bridging.

It can be a bit confusung (I found) so I have guessed at a config - not typed it in to verify.

bridge irb bridge 1 protocol ieee bridge 1 route ip

! type in again - they are order sensitive and this fixes it. bridge irb bridge 1 protocol ieee bridge 1 route ip ! check you have no errors reported

int bvi 1 ip address whatever.you.want mask...

int fa 0/0 no ip address bridge group 1

int fa 0/1 no ip address bridge group 1

Reply to
bod43

Thanks i will give it a try, so routing wise i can point a defaul route to int fa0/0 etc?

Your a diamond for replying :)

Reply to
tweety

Hi,

When i use the above config i cant send a default route to e0/0

int e0/0 no ip address bridge-group 1

int e0/1 no ip address bridge-group 1

int bvi1 ip address 192.168.172.9 255.255.255.0

Anyone any ideas?

Thanks for any input

Andrew

Reply to
tweety

You will need to make the default gateway of your internal devices the address of the ISP's router. They will tell you what it is.

Perhaps you should really be doing NAT on this box. I did not think beyond your detailed request.

If you explain in detail what you are trying to do and what you have then perhaps we can assist.