How To Print PIX 515 Configuration

I am looking for a way to print the configuration of the PIX 515 to a file. How is this done? I am not sure how to do it using the "write", "configure" or "show" commands. I can't figure out the proper syntax to print it out to a file. Can any one tell me how to do this? I'm a newbie to Cisco so I need details.

Thanks

Reply to
Albie
Loading thread data ...

I always just use a terminal emulator program (I use PuTTY for over-the-network sessions, and hyperterminal or minicom for serial), and turn on logging for printable output to a file, then do a 'show run'. There might be a fancy way, but this is very straightforward.

Almost any terminal emulator will do this- hyperterminal will if you use Transfer....Capture text option.

Reply to
Chris Bartram

In article , Albie wrote: :I am looking for a way to print the configuration of the PIX 515 to a :file. How is this done? I am not sure how to do it using the "write", :"configure" or "show" commands. I can't figure out the proper syntax to :print it out to a file. Can any one tell me how to do this? I'm a :newbie to Cisco so I need details.

1) set up a tftp server 2) [on most servers but not all] pre-create the destination file and make it writable by the tftp daemon (e.g., world writable) 3) on the PIX, go into configuration mode and use the tftp-server command to point to the correct interface and host and filename. [*] 4) on the PIX, go into configuration mode and command write net IMPORTANT: you MUST be in configuration mode, not in command mode! 5) back on the tftp server, look at the newly-written file.

[*] Advanced Use:

You need the tftp-server command to indicate the proper interface, but it does not actually need to indicate the proper host or proper output file. You can specify the host and output file on the "write net" command-line.

write net THEHOST:FILENAME

The default interface for tftp-server is the inside interface.

Reply to
Walter Roberson