help, got locked out when configuring AAA and RADIUS

Hi,

I managed to get myself locked out of a remote AS5300 with IOS 12.3 while configuring AAA and RADIUS. Basically I'm new to AAA. Before I started my AAA adventure, I usually telneted to the AS and got a 'password' prompt. Now I get a 'username' prompt, but I don't have any 'users' defined locally! If I dial into the AS with ppp, it correctly requests the RADIUS server which correctly sends an ACCEPT. However, the dialup connection still times-out (the RADIUS server responds from a different IP address than the request came in on so I think that might be the prob). Anyway this is not so important right now, because right now I'm locked out and need to get back in. If I telnet to the AS, I get the 'username' prompt and nomatter what I write, it does not send any RADIUS requests (which I didn't want it to anyway). I also managed to save the configuration before testing it so I can't even clear that configuration with a powercycle..., and what's worse, the router is located 200km from where I am...

Is there a default username defined?

The config for the VTY is: line vty 0 4 password [sanitized] login autoselect during-login autoselect ppp

Right now I just want to be able to telnet back into it. Is there any way at all?

Thanks alot. Regards, Tobias

Reply to
nsa.usa
Loading thread data ...

I am not familiar with AS series but I think that if you haven't saved the config then getting the unit switched off and on again will restore the old config.

Next time "reload in xx" - saved me many a time.

Don't forget that the router is going to reload though. I've done that too:-(

Other possibilities:- Maybe you have more vty lines configured, if you were able to occupy

0 - 4 then maybe vty 5 would let you in?

http? I have locked myself out of telnet and got in and fixed it via http. Not planned, just poor/no security design.

Reply to
Bod43

Hi,