Catalyst 3750 vs 3560

I am pretty new to Cisco gear and am confused between the 3750 and 3560. It seems to me that the main difference is that the 3750s support stacking whereas the 3560s don't, but they do support clustering.

Can someone explain the difference between clustering / stacking, and why would I choose a 3750 over a 3560? Would the choice be simply down to stack-a-bility?

Reply to
Eric The Viking
Loading thread data ...

There's a couple other changes, but they are fairly high-end/esoteric.

You'd have to study the two manuals side-by-side to find them.

But otherwise, yeah, thats the main difference.

Reply to
Doug McIntyre

The 3750 stacking uses a high bandwidth link that produces a single virtual switch with a single configuration.

I forget the bandwidth but it is MUCH more that a few Gbits per sec.

3560 I guess (not 100% sure) uses GB Ethernet as the interlink.

If I was using 3560 I woud not bother with the clustering bit since the network performance will be the same without it and it is an additional complexity that is not required. I would consider using clustering if I needed to deploy a large number of sites each with a few switches. However I don't see much advantage - imagine dealing with a cluster member failure remotely with a non-expert technician on site pluging in the new switch.

With the 3750 it is integral to the package and works very nicely but you still would want to figure out in advance how to replace a stack member.

Reply to
Bod43

the stack interconnect is also resilient (a ring of cables connecting the stack members)

so - you can alter the stack - eg replace a box, without disturbing the rest of the 3750s (not that it sounds like a good idea - i suspect the change control team wouldnt let me do it that way).

Reply to
stephen

Thanks for all the replies!

Regarding stacking, if I have two rooms with a stack of 3750s in each, I presume that it would not be possible stack the rooms together via fibre?

Reply to