Difference between GBIC and Giga Ethernet interface

Hi all,

I will connect 2 switchs catalyst (2950 or 2960) by STP by Giga interface.

For this need, generally, i use GBIC interface and its work fine.

Today, a lot of catalysts are provided with Giga Ethernet interface (RJ45) like catalyst 2960.

If i use this port (Giga Ethernet interface) to connect the two switchs, what will be the differences ?

So, i juste need to understand what differences btw Gbic and Giga Ethernet interface and what is the best choice ?

Thank You very much !!!

Best Regards Rahan

Reply to
Rahan
Loading thread data ...

I'm not an expert but I think GBIC enables you to cover a greater distance. If your link length is less than that specified for Gigabit Ethernet you can use Gigabit Ethernet. We're using GBIC to connect 2 switches located in 2 different buildings. Maybe we could do the same with Ethernet. If your switches are quite close each other you don't need to move to GBIC.

Alex.

Reply to
AM

distance. If your link length is less than that

Maybe we could do the same with Ethernet.

Thanks a lot Alex.

Can someone confirm that distance is the alone difference ?

In technology fibre (Gbic or Mini-Gbic), two cables (fibres) are used. I think that one is used to transmit and the second for receive data. If it's true, using Gbic or Mini-Gbic (SFP) can increase bandthwith performance.

i am not sure. i don't know.

Any confirmation ?

Thanks a lot

Best Regards Rahan

Reply to
Rahan

your link length is less than that

Maybe we could do the same with Ethernet.

1000BaseTX is 1000BaseTX whether on GBIC or not.

However - be aware than not all ports are created equal however I think that on your particular platforms that there will be no difference.

On a 4500 for example the Supervisor engine ports each have a dedicated 1Gbps to the Switch fabric and many line card ports do not.

Even copper ports nowaday run really clean. Here is the first one that I looked at:-