Use of router

This may be a stupid question, but I am new to cable modems and being connected all the time.

Is it safer to use a router with NAT between the modem and the computer rather than just go from the modem direct to the computer using a firewall? I know the advantages of the router regarding additional computers having access.

Thanks to the experts.

Reply to
Charlie
Loading thread data ...
100% YES. A router blocks unsolicited inbound traffic to your system. Recent news releases show that unprotected systems can be infected in as little as 20 minutes(some reported even less time). Any broadband connection at a minimum should have a NAT device between the modem and computer.
Reply to
Jbob

135~139 and 445.

I've never seen a consumer router that allows you to specifically block ports since all ports are generally blocked by default, except for the ones that are specifically opened.

Reply to
Bill M.

135~139 and 445.

Thank you all.

Reply to
Charlie

It doesn't hurt to go into the Router and specifically block TCP/UDP ports

135~139 and 445.

Dave

Reply to
David H. Lipman

The firewall makes it harder to get in, the NAT (router feature) makes it harder to FIND you.

Reply to
Ron Hunter

On Linksys BEFSR41 and BEFSR81 v1 and v2 Routers the URL is -- http://192.168.1.1/Filters.htmLinksys BEFSR41 and BEFSR81 v3 Routers use a different URL but utilize the same construct. I have also done it on other routers such as Asante. I have also received feedback that it can be done on many other vendor's Routers.

The Routers don't default to block any ports. They are analagous to a closed door. Using the right request, an Internet node (I-worm or hacker) can open the port's door. Specifically blocking the port is analogous to locking the port's door. You can't can't go out that blocked port from the LAN side nor can you get in that port via the WAN side.

Dave