Newbie Cable Modem Home Network Question

Hi. I've been using a 56K dial-up Internet connection for a long time. I've finally decided to move on up to broadband cable modem. Our house has two computers that access the Internet, one belonging to me and one to my wife. I have a Pentium 4 running XP Home, and she has a Mac G3 notebook running OS X. Both have Ethernet cards built-in and available USB ports.

My goal is to subscribe to a cable modem service (comcast is all that's offered around here--DSL is not available), and use a wireless router home network to get the service to the two computers. I'm a total newbie at this. I sort of understand that I'll need to connect a cable modem to our cable line, connect a wireless router to the cable modem, and give each computer some sort of wireless adapter. And I'll need to buy firewire software. I'm also assuming that we can do this having just one ISP address as long as my wife and I don't access at the same time (not sure if that is true). That's the extent of my knowledge (or lack thereof). Can someone provide advice or point me to a good FAQ on the topic? I looked on CNET.com, but their Wirless Network 101 article is dated 2003. At the rate technology changes, I figure I should look up something more recent.

Thanks for any info!

Ken

Reply to
Ken
Loading thread data ...

I have three computers on my cable system, and all can access at the same time. The laptop accesses through a wireless router/switch, and the two desktops are ethernet wired. Why would you need firewire?

Setup is VERY simple, just follow the instructions on the router you buy.

Reply to
Ron Hunter

Start with a wireless broadband router. You hook the modem up to that. From that, you can hook up several wired computers (typically 4 for most consumer level routers), and several wireless computers.