Networking Suggestions?

Hello,

I just signed up for Comcast Cable internet service. I am looking for suggestions as to how to go about setting my access throughout the house. I am only going to be using the HSI for web browsing and email.

Currently, my cable modem is on the bottom floor of a 3 story house. Every room (16 or so) has a wired data port in it already. All of the cables to each port are located in the same wiring closet as the cable modem. My thoughts are to purchase a 4 port router and hook it directly to the cable modem. Then I would hook the router to a 16 port switch and plug each wired data port cable into the switch. My thinking is that this would give me HSI (wired) access in each room.

My next goal is to provide Wireless access to some areas of the house. Can I just purchase Access Points and plug them into the wired data ports in the rooms which I want wifi access? I am somewhat new to all of this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

My next question is what brand router, switch, and access points would you recommend? I am not looking to break the bank here. Again, I only need basic functionality from the router as I will not be running any sort of business nor needing access to my network from the outside.

Thank you all in advance.

Reply to
ckarnacki
Loading thread data ...

So far, so good. BTW, with your house being fully wired, you're already way ahead of most people's houses, I would think.