Newbie question re router's built-in firewall

Hi,

I have a Linksys WRT54G router, an outstanding product in my humble opinion.

I'm still a novice at this wireless malarkey so my questions are:

(1) given that I'm running with ZoneAlarm Professional, do I need to enable the router's built-in firewall?

and

(2) if the answer to (1) is yes, do I need to bother with ZoneAlarm Professional?

Any considered opinions greatly appreciated :-)

TIA.

Reply to
Alex Flaherty
Loading thread data ...

By all means enable the router's firewall; it probably offers stateful packet inspection and DOS attack prevention. There are many who believe that the mere presence of a NAT router obviates the need for a personal firewall; the additional hardware firewall can only make your security better overall.

Q
Reply to
Quaoar

Now from what I hear mind you I don't use a 54G router, that router can stop inbound and outbound traffic by port, protocol and IP by setting rules. If that is the case, then ZA would be out the door if I was using that router. The only thing that router's firmware doesn't do is log traffic, which that router has free 3rd party firmware you can install that will allow you to use Wallwatcher and that's free too. The router is the better overall solution in protecting the network.

However, since it's a wireless device some like to go with a PFW solution for better protection in case the wireless is hacked to prevent access to the machine. I myself would go where one should go is to the O/S and harden it to attack and would still dump ZA, since the machine was behind the protection of that router.

Duane :).

Reply to
Duane Arnold

should not cause any harm - so why not?

dont forget this protects other devices plugged onto your LAN - temp laptops for a visitor is an issue for me

Yes - you should have a personal firewall.