Multiple Wireless Connections

Hi All,

Using XP Pro with a wireless adapter in my notebook, I connect to my home network with a static IP address, now if I take my notebook to anywhere with a wireless connection I need to delete all my settings (to obtain dynamic IP or whatever) is there any way I can just setup a connection for say =91Home=92 then =91Weatherspoons=92 then =91Starbucks= =92 =85 well no I don=92t go to Starbucks, rather spend the =A32.90 on a beer =85. = I can=92t seem to figure it out =85 then I am no expert =85. Just a bit of a pain to setup all these different connections every time I go out (not that often but) ... is there a way??

TIA

Burp ....

Reply to
Jack Ouzzi
Loading thread data ...

What brand of laptop do you have. Lenovo/IBM has "Access Connections" which does this. Lenovo sells it for other brands:

formatting link

Your brand may offer something similar for free. Or check your adapter manufacturer. They typically offer a connection manager as well.

Here's one that I know nothing about:

formatting link

Reply to
seaweedsl

Many thanks Seaweeds .... so the answer I suppose is, not possible on a 'normal' setup additional software need to access other wireless networks ... mine is an HP notebook BTW

Reply to
Tops

I use Netswitcher for changing configurations at different locations. If it were just the wireless configuration, I would just use WZC in manual mode, or some connection manager that supports "profiles". However, the typical wireless connection manager will not save static IP addresses. I also need to save SMTP server, WINS server, network logins, default printer, and other trivia that I usually manage to forget. Too much work for my aging brain, so I need a program to keep it all organized.

$20 for the license that works forever. However, you have to renew every 2 years to get updates. Checking my laptop, I now have 28 saved locations (mostly my customers). Note that you may need to reboot after switching.