Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router WRT54GS v5.1

Hi All

I'm new to this, and after some research I was thinking of buying the " Linksys WRT54GS v5.1"

formatting link
in the posted subject line.

My only concern is that I alredy have a TP-LINK 11b/g Wireless Adapter installed in my machine

formatting link
and I have a spare for other PC. I did read somewhere that when buying a router to get the same manufacturers wireless adapter.

Will this be a problem?? Or Should I be looking for a "TP-Link" router or a vice versa?

T.I.A

Reply to
p.mc
Loading thread data ...

formatting link
Router in the posted subject line.

Anyone?..."Please"

Reply to
p.mc

formatting link
> Router in the posted subject line.

Is it alright to have different manufacturers wireles adapters (USB and PCI) on my not yet Wireless Network?

It's just that I'm in a position to purchase some hardware very soon (2Hrs) But I don't want to make a costly mistake due to my lack of knowledge. I have been researching since yesterday, but it's still a bit of a mine field for me to be honest.

Reply to
p.mc

As long as its all WiFi certified. Best to stick to a single standard eg 802.11g, and best to make sure they all support WPA or WPA2.

Reply to
Mark McIntyre

If you are dealing with G stuff then it doesn't really matter who makes it. I haven't ever had a problem with different brands not getting along. If you are dealing with draft N stuff I would stick to all the same brand for best results.

Reply to
Steve B.

(Mark wrote)

the tp-link card say's in the specs: Data Security; [WPA]; 64/128/152 BIT WEP; TKIP/AES.

Don't know about the Linksys router, couldn't find anything on the spec sheet below.

formatting link
That's if it's what you were reffering to! If so does anyone know if the router supports WPA or WPA2 ?

(Steve wrote)

"Thanks for that"

Reply to
p.mc