importance of swr with wifi

I've lately picked up an interest in wifi, mainly, as an option to untangle myself from cables. As an amateur radio hobbyist, I understand the principles of the radio hardware involved but not the firmware/software aspects of wifi. I can save that for later. The question I have is about the antenna system. I've seen several DIY parabolic contraptions you can make from cardboard and aluminum foil to place on the 'antenna' to increase the range and directional characteristics. With the transmitters I'm familiar with, you just can't start modifying the antenna system, with no regard for SWR. Could someone explain if SWR is critical to a wifi transmitter? I'm assuming since they appear to be a relatively low power device, they can either tolerate a high SWR or have built-in protection. I'm not so concerned with SWR as it relates to the efficiency of the antenna system but more with the potential to cause damage to the transmitter.

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
awizardalso
Loading thread data ...

I suggest you might find more satisfying answers if you pose your question on the "rec.radio.amateur.antenna" newsgroup..