Help!

Hi everyone,

Ok I'm new to newsgroups but mainly very new to wireless networks.

Truthfully I'm not sure where to start, my old computer which I'm currently using is very old and due for the skip soon! My new computer arrives this Saturday.

This computer is connected on a 2mb Broadband Cable connection provided by Telewest (A UK ISP) Its a Ethernet connection but when the new computer comes i want the new computer to go downstairs as this is all currently wired upstairs. I could get Telewest to come re-cable and have the new computer hard wired downstairs but its hassle which is what got me onto the idea of Wireless! I've looked around on the net and its seems to say i need a wireless router and a wireless usb port ??

I want to keep the Cable modem upstairs on it's own not attached to anything and have the new computer downstairs attached wirelessly to the modem upstairs. Is this possible. What i've read so far is mainly for having one computer hard wired to the network and having other computers attached to the broadband connection via wireless. However i just want 1 computer attached but i'd prefer the cable modem to be in 1 room and the computer in another. And is a wireless router what i need and a wireless usb attachment? where do they go ! i haven't a clue sorry.

Thanks for any help, hope it sort of makes sense!

Reply to
Matt Jenkins (Personal)
Loading thread data ...

There are a number of things you can do, the USB wireless adapters work OK but I've had a lot of problems with these devices due to weak signal. Option 1: You have better luck purchasing a PCI wireless card. You will need a wireless AP to provide the connectivity to the computer downstairs. Opiton 2: You can setup a peer-to-peer network but you will have to have 2 wireless cards and just do internet connection sharing through the ethernet of the device connected to your cable modem.

Option 1 is your better choice for stability.

Sean Hartling Skybeam High Speed Wireless Internet