any recent research in wireless ATM?

I'm a systems engineer involved in the design of unmanned vehicles and I am soooo frustrated with 802.11. The limitations of 802.11, especially in unlicensed bands, are a common problem in applications where real-time wireless control is a requirement. There is currently some research in using QOS enhancements and multi-radio-diversity to get around the unpredictable latency problems of 802.11 but those avenues will fall short of the end goal: reliable high bandwidth communications in a non-line-of-sight environment.

I played around a bit with ATM in the mid-90s and am wondering if any of the researchers or vendors are continuing the path of bringing ATM to the wireless world. I know from my own experience that because of the ACK/NAK

802.11 facilities large datagrams are statistically more likely to fail and retries will bog down the network. The small cell characteristics of ATM, combined with FEC (forward error correction) would seem to be a step in the right direction if a better link layer protocol was implemented.

Can anyone shed some light on whether wireless ATM is an active research area? or point me to some links? A lot of the links I've seen are from research that is many years old.

Some may consider the question to be off-topic, but the technology would be applicable to wireless internet too.

Thanks

Reply to
noone
Loading thread data ...

noone hath wroth:

Why? What problems are you seeing with 802.11?

Latency? I get Can anyone shed some light on whether wireless ATM is an active research

Sorry, I can't help much. I don't do much research. Try searching with:

using "wireless ATM" as a search key. Hit the "recent" button near the top. I skimmed some of the articles found and noticed that none of them involved 802.11. They all used proprietary modulation and timing schemes to avoid the built in limitations of 802.11. Looks like acm.org has some articles.