VOIP in a small office environment

Folks,

I am a newbie when it comes to VOIP. I wanted to use VOIP in our small office environment. Existing setup involves three analog lines coming to my office. They go into a PBX, and from there on, we have our individual phones connected. Of course the three lines are in a hunt group, so an outside caller calls the same number.

I called Vonage having the same type of setup. Vonage told me VOIP does not work like that. I will have to get an IP phone for each individual in the office. They do have some kind of hunt group, but not similar to normal hunt group.

I have the following questions to you experts:

1. Can someone please draw anaology of VOIP with my existing setup. Okay, I understand that there is something in the phone, which over a braodband connection identifies itself to the phone provider (Let us take Vonage in our example).

1. If the above construct is true then I am sure someone would have thought of SOHO environment, where a 3 line VOIP PBX would basically have three identities for Vonage to route the calls.

I would greatly appreciate if someone would please comment on my questions.

Thanks.

Ash

Reply to
WQ
Loading thread data ...

Check out Packet8's offering. It might be something like you are looking for. Be aware that you will have more downtime with VOIP. If you want three POTS lines, you will still have to have three interfaces, even if somebody builds them into one box to replace your key system.

Reply to
John McHarry

I've confirmed that I can receive multiple simultaneous incoming calls with BroadVoice. (I did very little testing with it but I'm likely to try it again.)

If you're going to try to do anything interesting, I recommend sticking with a more open service (like BroadVoice or VoicePulse).