Firewall for small business environment

I need to get a firewall for a business using a small (very small) network using an NT4 server for file and printer sharing. They recently got broadband internet service using a D-Link DI-604 router (provided by the dish-network ISP.) I believe the router has some firewall capabilities, and does have a setting for additonal (I'm guessing) firewall filtering. I'm thinking of putting software firewalls on the client computers (three) and would the server also need one? Any thoughts or suggestions greatly appreciated. TIA.

Patty

Reply to
Patty
Loading thread data ...

Thanks Duane. I will look at the webpage you suggested. I believe the server is using NTFS already. I'm not sure how to lock down the registry. I am fairly new at working with an NT server, I have done much with simple file and printer sharing (peer-to-peer type) home networking, but this is my first foray into a dedicated NT server network.

Thanks again for your suggestions.

Patty

Reply to
Patty

Patty wrote in news:p3h95kjxoluq.osrnhulee32u$. snipped-for-privacy@40tude.net:

You should have them get a low-end WatchGuard SOHO 6 Firebox or some similar FW appliance like Sonicwall, Snapgear, etc, etc, to replace the D- Link NAT router then you will not need to supplement the NAT Router (with no FW) with any host based FW solution running on a machine. That D-link NAT router is just that a NAT router with FW like features but is not a real FW. On the other hand, the D-link is most likely good enough for a small LAN satiation and high risk things are not being done like port forwarding on the router.