Re: Where to Buy a Cellular Phone Jammer?

>> Not as far as I know. The Communications Act of 1934 gets amended

>> all the time, but it is still, as far as I know, the basis of radio >> regulation in this country (and, yes, television and cell phones >> are, physically, radio). Did it go away when I wasn't looking? > Well, the Telecommunications Act of 1996 was enacted. I had assumed > that it replaced the Communications Act of 1934. I guess I was wrong > on that assumption. Do we have any lawyers on here that can clarify > that issue?

No, the 1996 Telecom Act did not replace the Communications Act of

1934; it amended some sections of it and added some new sections to it. I am a wireless telecom lawyer in a Washington, D.C. firm, and those are facts, not legal opinions.

As to jammers, they are completely illegal to import, manufacture, or use in the United States (unless you are an arm of the federal government or have an experimental license permitting jammer use for testing purposes -- which would require you not to jam licensed cellular signals. In fact, the FCC just reissued a public notice to that effect.

Entitled, "Sale or Use of Transmitters Designed to Prevent, Jam or Interfere with Cell Phone Communications is Prohibited in the United States," Document # DA-05-1776, and dated June 27, 2005, it's available at .

Here's the text:

[FCC Public Notice Letterhead] DA-05-1776 June 27, 2005

Sale or Use of Transmitters Designed to Prevent, Jam or Interfere with Cell Phone Communications is Prohibited in the United States