Re: New Technology Poses 911 Peril

[TELECOM Digest Editor's Note: The debate over on VOIP News continues between Mr. Wilber and Jack Decker. PAT]

--- Jack Decker [Moderator] wrote:

As for E-911 fees, I have been saying for many months now that the only fair way to finance E-911 centers is through the same mechanism used to finance every other emergency service in the community (such as fire and police), be that property taxes, local sales taxes, or whatever.

--- end of quote ---

I would like to know how that could be administered. In New Hampshire, local communities determine how their emergency services are funded while the stae determines how E-911 is financed. In my state, there is just a single PSAP but even that would be an adminstratrive and political challenge of huge proportions. I can only imagine it would be completely unmanageable in a large state such as New York or California.

In an ideal world, the phone companies that sold the 911 centers these technologically obsolete systems would be forced to pay. However, I suspect that if there were more sources for these systems -- that is, if 911 center operators didn't run to their partners in crime at the phone companies to purchase these systems at top dollar -- I suspect they could get far more advanced systems for far less money.

--- end of quote ---

My primary experience has been in the state of New Hampshire. In that state, when the legislature mandated that all municipalities implement E-911 within a certain period of time, the contract for providing E-911 was put out for bid as it should be. All legitimate vendors were welcome to submit bids on the contract.