Drivers Who Misuse Cell Phones Have Many Readers in a Dither

Drivers who misuse cell phones have many readers in a dither

By Gary Richards Mercury News Staff Columnist

Q I think we need a day dedicated to cell phone blunders. Maybe it will become an educational issue.

Dennis McKenna San Jose

A Oh, yeah. Here we go, with truly amazing stories.

Q My candidate was the guy in a BMW in a left-turn lane on Almaden Expressway. While talking on his phone he pulls a U-turn, against the red light, under the sign saying no U-turn, in front of oncoming traffic at 45-plus mph.

Dennis McKenna

A We can do better than that . . .

Q I'm a light-rail driver and missed a man by 18 inches coming into the Campbell station. He was on a cell phone, walking around the crossing arms which were down with lights flashing. I sounded the horn, he turned and put up his hand as if he was going to stop a

50-ton light-rail train doing 45 mph. The bad news: This is not an isolated incident.

Gary Campbell San Jose

A Truly, amazing.

Q I was on Brokaw Road when suddenly I had to brake because there was a car stopped in front of me with its hazard lights on. I was cringing because I thought I might get rear-ended. Cars behind me stopped suddenly or swerved into the next lane. Next thing I know, the lady with her hazards on hangs up her cell phone and proceeds to drive to the left-turn lane.

Patrick Ichikawa San Jose

A She was truly a hazard.

Q I know you probably get 1,000 e-mails about this a day, but I had to share this. I was crossing The Alameda at Newhall on foot when a driver on his cell phone came within a foot of hitting me as he made a left. Seconds later, a woman made a right turn and actually hit me (I wasn't hurt). She was on her phone as well. Can you please, please, please tell people not to talk on their cells while driving? Especially in residential areas.

Kevin Cooper San Jose

A Through you, I am trying.