Honeywell Galaxy panels

I may need to replace my trusty old Scantronic 9100 system.

I've heard that the Honeywell Galaxy (possibly the 3-48C) may well be the one to go for, but I do have a number of questions:

0) The big one - is this kit installable by a reasonably competent DIYer and electronics hacker, who also happens to be a software guy by trade, or does it really need to be installed by an alarm company (with their darned maintenance contracts).

1) I've got 9 zones of 4 wire sensors (6 wire to the PIRs) and a PAB. It appears that the Galaxy uses two wire technology. I assume that means I need to open up all my existing sensors and install lots of resistors to allow tamper detection to work - is that right?

2) The existing system has a builtin loudspeaker in the panel, I assume the Galaxy needs to have one fitted?

3) The existing system has a keypad builtin to the control panel as well as an external keypad in another room. I assume that I need TWO external keypads for the Galaxy - is that right?

4) I have a external SAB (Stand-Alone-Bell) unit with a strobe. The strobe is driven off its own relay in the control panel (two wires), and the SAB has four wires - +ve, -Ringing, 0V (-ve), and Tamper Return. Can this be driven from the Galaxy?

That's it for now ...

Cheers Dave

Reply to
Dave Partridge
Loading thread data ...

You might want to look at Comfort (Cytech in rest of the world). It is designed for both professional and DIY install, but requires reasonable competence in software for the programming. I have fitted two such systems.

formatting link