X10 Home Automation and Physical Security

I am new to the automation arena and have a computer security background so I am thinking with my "paranoid" hat on now.

Our house has a couple of external outlets for convience while doing yard work and other activities. Looking to install some X10 devices and maybe a security system in the future.

Could someone with physical access potentially impact the X10 devices on the inside of the house? I am generally thinking lights and appliances but also the security system if the control panel is able to talk X10. I realize that they would need some kind of controller and/or laptop while standing in front of our house.

Any thoughts?

Kevin

Reply to
Kevin Gottsman
Loading thread data ...

It's worse than that. I can run through all of the possible RF codes and disarm any X-10 security system in about 30 seconds using a PDA. Of course, I have no way to know which houses have X-10 security systems.

I d>I am new to the automation arena and have a computer security background

Reply to
Dave Houston

Anyone with a plug-in controller can control any of the ordinary X10 modules in your home if the exterior outlet is not filtered. Or do the same thing with a RF remote if you have an X10 transceiver plugged in anywhere in the house.

Security systems from X10 are somewhat more difficult to compromise, but not much - the security ID required in the RF code to disarm the system is only 1 byte long. However the off-the-shelf X10 security remotes assign their ID at random, so some work would be needed on the part of a would-be housebreaker to acquire a transmitter to send any specific ID, or to cycle through all IDs.

Reply to
Charles Sullivan

Good thinking. A little paranoia goes a long way.

Yes.

***Never*** allow your security to be controlled via X10. There's no protection against inadvertent or deliberate acts which can disable your protection.