Full Web-Interface Controller?

I have been running HAL2000 (deluxe) PC automation software for several years now. I would like to switch to an automation/X10 controller which is programmable but standalone (does not require PC running).

My preference is a full web-interface 2-way X10 controller, similar to a wireless access point, where you have the option to operate the functions from any browser, but can only program via SNMP utility or USB. Connections on this box would be power, RJ-45 for network, powerline interface for X10, and optional USB. I have been trying to find a product like this for quite some time, but have been unsuccessful. It seems that the shift to web-interface hardware shold have included an automation device by now - something a bit lighter than a full HAI Omni-type system. Any suggestions or ideas?

Reply to
recneps
Loading thread data ...

I don't think you'll find any "ready-out-of-the-box" device that can do this. There was one device but it disappeared so quickly that its name hasn't stuck in my mind.

It's easy enough to do (and cheap if you eliminate USB) using a 5V embedded PC, available from under $100 to several hundred dollars depending on CPU, speed and features. The picoFlash from JK Microsystems is inexpensive and has plenty of power for this but you'd have to write your own software to interface with something like a CM11A to do X-10. You could also do it using an xPort (Lantastic), a microcontroller (e.g. PIC) and CM11A but the cost would be about the same and you'd have far less versatility and power.

formatting link
It's unlikely you'll be able to do voice c>I have been running HAL2000 (deluxe) PC automation software for several

Reply to
Dave Houston

Dear Sir:

I am working on one of such product and intent to have beta release for the period between Jan-2006 to June-2006. The release system will include:

1. Caller ID module
  2. Light control module
  3. Irrigation control module
  4. HVAC control module