Thermostat recommendations?

I am completely new to the world of home automation. However, my thermostat needs to be replaced, and I would very much like to replace it with something that I can program from my PC. Having said that, I don't really know where to begin. Has anyone got any suggestions for me?

Here is a further elaboration of my situation. I would like, eventually, to put controllable dampers or flow controls or whatever they're called into the pipes from my furnace/AC so that I can control different zones separately. However, I can't afford that right now. So, I want to start by replacing my thermostat, with a view to building the system out further if/when I can afford more.

I have done a little reading on the net but it hasn't gotten me a lot closer to a solution just yet. I've read a little about X10 and RS-485, but being new to this field, I generally get confused before I get very far. Can someone offer me guidance as to exactly which components I'll need to buy now in order to hook up a thermostat to my PC and be able to control it?

Thanks a lot! Brad.

Reply to
Bradley Plett
Loading thread data ...

There are some pages you might find of interest at....

formatting link
Hope it helps...

Tom

Re- thermostat: If you live in a place where pipes freeze:

Put a traditional t'stat in to maintain a minimum heat. Fit "computer controlled" "t'stat" in parallel with the safer one, and use it to boost the t'ture as suits your needs... but whatever happens, at least your house gets enough heat to keep pipes unfrozen...

Reply to
Sheepdog

I put one of these in myself a little over a year ago. I loked at quite a few models but finally went with an RC-122 thermostat from HAI. I have had no problems at all with it.

The features that made me decide on this one were:

- Serial port connection (this one can also do RS-485 I think)

- Compatible with their Omni series home automation controllers (I want to get one when I can afford it).