building a new home

heya guys,

building a new house, going to deck it out, I am an electrician by trade so wiring is no issue with me, I am also building the house myself so I can design whatever I want.

Basically I am going to list what aspects I would like recommendations for hardware on and hopefully we can get some good response.

I am going to have a NOC over the garage so all cabling is going back to there and everything will be controlled from there.

Zwave looks to be the most advanced protocal for appliance control. So I figure Ill be using that.

(1) Im also thinking about using acoustic magic microphones for home automation (IVB can CQC do voice commands?)

(2) What would you suggest as zone controllers so if the microphone pics up sound in one room, it locks onto that signal.

(3) I want to have wired contacts on all doors/windows, what is the best contacts/controller for this?

(4) I am rfid implanted so I will be using normal keys + rfid for entry into the main house and rfid for entry into all other rooms. If you have any questions on this create a new topic and ill answer.

(5) I have x10 anaconda cameras on my old house, any suggestions for better in the same price range? (32.99).

(6) Entertainment. Would you do big ass dvd changer/player or big ole computer that has all the movies on it?

(6) Entertainment. controlling tv/radio/dvd/etc...Im thinking pda or touchscreen?

(7) touchscreens in each vital room.

gimmie suggestions and if i think of more i will post again.

thanks

--chris

Reply to
cj
Loading thread data ...

Answering that which I know. I don't do RFID or X10, so i'll refrain from giving you my uninformed opinion.

CQC doesn't do VR yet. Frankly, I don't think the technology is mature enough to warrant widespread usage.

For wired contacts/sensors, I got the bag o'magnetic reed switches from toymaster

formatting link
- something like $2.50/each, cheaper by the dozen. Running to an Elk M1G, basic switches are all you need.