Zywall 5 Setup - Newbie Question

Hi,

Please pardon my newbie question as I have no previous experience in configuring the firewall. We recently purchased a ZyWall 5, with the intention to prevent malicious attacks.

We currently host our own Web and Email servers, so we need to allow those traffic to come in, we also need to allow internet access for our LAN users.

The ZyWall is currently plugged into the LAN and it seems to be working (but I am not too sure if it is giving any protection though).

The current setup is as follow:

Under Security -> Firewall:

Enabled Firewall - ON Allow Asymmetrical Route - ON

When we turn this (Allow Asymmetrical Route) to OFF, external users are not able to access the web servers nor our local LAN users can access the web.

Here's the setup:

LAN to LAN / ZyWALL Permit LAN to WAN Permit LAN to DMZ Permit LAN to WLAN Permit WAN to LAN Permit WAN to WAN / ZyWALL Permit WAN to DMZ Permit WAN to WLAN Permit DMZ to LAN Drop DMZ to WAN Permit DMZ to DMZ / ZyWALL Drop DMZ to WLAN Drop WLAN to LAN Drop WLAN to WAN Permit WLAN to DMZ Drop WLAN to WLAN / ZyWALL Permit

Are the above correct?? Also, what should we setup in the "Rule Summary"??

Are the above information enough for anyone to share any information? Do I need to provide more details??

I believe our servers are currently under "attacks", so any assistance would be helpful and any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Best regards, eddie teo

Reply to
Eddie Teo
Loading thread data ...

You had better call tech support at Zywall. Don't they have free tech support for a limited time on new product setup and usage?

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

Duane, I saw you posting the same message contents following up on ZyWall questions by others.

If you have something against Zyxel, please approach them directly instead of trying to stir up emotions here.